Rory's Feline Good

Why I’m bad at keeping New Years resolutions

1 Comment

It’s coming up to the time of year when we’re supposed to be thinking of our resolutions for 2017.  Perhaps something that we want to change about ourselves, a fitness goal or perhaps take up a new hobby.  For me it’s the time of year where I join a gym and then never go past the second week of January.

In the past I’ve set myself pretty vague goals, generally along the lines of lose weight, get fitter, stop biting my nails… Generally by the time it gets to the end of the year I can’t even remember what my resolutions were.  I have not achieved any of them and couldn’t have done so anyway as there was no real target.

Time for something different ….

This year I’m trying something different.  Rather than a resolution that makes me worry about being overweight, unfit or having bitten nails I’m going to do something that I hope will give me a real sense of achievement.  That’s why in 2017 I plan to take part in some defined challenges and try to raise money for a good cause at the same time.  I can’t wait to quit the gym and start spending more time training outside!

I fixed on trekking the West Highland Way as it’s something I can arrange myself and do with Paul.  I expect it to be tough and some of the distances look pretty daunting but it’s a challenge that I’m looking forward to taking on.  I’m not the best at camping as I like my home comforts, but we’re going to try and do the walk in 5 days and camp each night.  I’ll be posting about some of our training walks on this blog.

I’m also going to sign up to some running events as I have never taken part in any before and will be on the lookout for other challenges to take part in throughout the year.  I will put all of the details of these here and on the Rory’s Feline Good Facebook page.

But why now?

Those of you who know me well will know how important my cats are to me and I see them as part of my family.  In 2016, Rory, our eldest cat has been very unwell.  He has suffered from digestive difficulties his whole life but this year he stopped eating entirely.  Early diagnostics suggested that he may have lymphoma but fortunately this turned out not to be the case.  After surgery at Royal Dick Vets at Edinburgh University and a change in his medication he seems to be on the mend but is restricted to special diet.  All of this made me think about how much Rory means to us, it was a heartbreaking experience to see him sick and not know what was wrong or how to help him.

There are a lot of cats out there who need help and are not as lucky as Rory is to have a family to look after them.  Cats Protection do brilliant work to care for these cats and find them good homes.  West Lothian branch, where we adopted Rory and Mac from, does not have a shelter and therefore all of their cats are cared for at the homes of their volunteers.  I want to do something to show my support for everything that they do.

All the best for the New Year everyone!

One thought on “Why I’m bad at keeping New Years resolutions

  1. I volunteer at cats protection I just love helping all the cats and kittens.🐾🐾🐾

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

