Rory's Feline Good

Hopping for cats?

2 Comments

This isn’t exactly the training update that I wanted to share this early in 2017!  Following a weekend of walking and 2 weeks into my running training I woke up on Monday last week with pain in my right ankle.  At first I thought it was normal post-exercise ache but it got worse throughout the day and by the end of the day I was limping.  Not ideal!

Fortunately my injury doesn’t seem too bad and I’m confident of making a recovery and getting back to my training soon.  Here are my thoughts on coping with injury when you have an event (or in my case year of challenges) ahead of you.

RICE, RICE baby!

First things first, always use Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation to reduce any initial swelling.  Avoid any activity where you need to push through the pain and especially anything that makes it worse.

There may be an argument for some gentle activity depending on your injury.  Check out this guide from running-physio.com on acute injury management, which gives an overview of Protect, Optimal Loading, Ice, Compression, Elevation.

Seek advice … but not always on the internet!

There is a lot of useful information on the internet but googling your injury symptoms is not the most comforting experience.  When I looked up mine it suggested a range of potential problems from ankle strain to stress fracture – eek!

Remember if you think you’ve really hurt yourself and it’s not getting better then see a physio or a doctor.  Generally the earlier you start to treat an injury the quicker you will recover.

Cross-train but don’t run too soon!

I’m not running again yet but my ankle is definitely getting better and I’m hoping to try it out on a long walk soon.  After this I’ll ease my way back into my running training.  In the mean time I’ll stick to cycling and swimming to keep my fitness levels up.

Don’t let it get you down

I don’t actually enjoy running all that much so I was really surprised by how disappointed I was that I was unable to train.  My main concern is to get it right in time for the 10K that I’m running in March, even if I have to walk parts of it.  All of this is for Cats Protection so I’m going to complete the 10K even if I have to hop!

Don’t forget to check out the challenges I’ll be doing this year and show your support on my Just Giving page.

2 thoughts on “Hopping for cats?

  1. Pingback: January update | Rory's Feline Good

  2. Pingback: Meadows 10K – Running for Cats | Rory's Feline Good

Leave a Reply

