Rory's Feline Good

Great Edinburgh Run – Running for Cats

2 Comments

I have a number of challenges that I’m taking part in for Cats Protection in April, which means that my blog has turned more into a running/ walking blog than originally intended.  Never fear – normal service will resume shortly with more on Rory’s thoughts, Mac’s guides and crafting cat stuff.  The main purpose of all of this was always to raise awareness of the work that Cats Protection do, help raise some money for them and let you keep track of all of the things that I am doing.

On Sunday I took part in and completed the Great Edinburgh Run with my step dad Robert, a 10 mile race in the beautiful but rather hilly centre of Edinburgh.  It is a tough but scenic course and also the longest running event that I have signed up to do, as after this I need to refocus my training on hiking and backpacking for the West Highland Way in September.

I went into this race feeling slightly apprehensive as I only started running in January and the furthest I’d managed to run in training was 8 miles.  I quickly got into it though, which was helped by the crowds cheering us on, including the wonderful folk from Edinburgh dungeon dressed in their finest scary outfits and dancing at the sidelines.

IMG_1160.JPG

I managed to complete the race in 01:36:25, which I am really pleased with – I don’t think I could have run any faster than I did though.  By the end I was roughly beetroot coloured, contrasting nicely with my Cats Protection yellow running vest!

If you want to sponsor me for the rest of my 2017 challenges please donate at my JustGiving page.  This weekend (30th April) I am walking the Glasgow Kiltwalk (23 miles) with my husband Paul so there is no rest for me this month!

2 thoughts on “Great Edinburgh Run – Running for Cats

  1. Pingback: Glasgow Kiltwalk – a Mighty Stride | Rory's Feline Good

  2. Pingback: April Update | Rory's Feline Good

Leave a Reply

