Rory's Feline Good

Trekking the West Highland Way

1 Comment

Although I am taking part in a number of challenges this year for Cats Protection the main event is definitely the West Highland Way trek, which I’m doing with my husband Paul.

The West Highland Way is 96 miles long and we plan to walk it over five days.  To add to the challenge we’re going to be camping all the way and carrying our things.  Five days is a stretch for us as most guides recommend walking over seven or eight days.  

We had originally planned to do the walk in September but due to work commitments we have brought it forward.  We’re now going to be starting the walk tomorrow!  So with 2 months less training than planned, in warmer weather and with more midges we’re ready for our challenge!

Here’s me trying our my backpack!  I won’t be trekking in jeans and stripy socks!

IMG_8374.JPG

The itinerary

 

Although it’s a while off, I have planned our itinerary in advance because the route is very popular.  I have found the official West Highland Way website very useful in planning everything.  There is also a really helpful blog post by rambling man and I have also been using a Walking the West Highland Way guide book.

Here is our itinerary:

  • Day 1 – Milngavie to Balmaha (20 Miles)
  • Day 2 – Balmaha to Inverarnan (21 miles) 
  • Day 3 – Inverarnan to Bridge of Orchy (20 miles) 
  • Day 4 – Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven (21 miles) 
  • Day 5 – Kinlochleven to Fort William (14 miles) the end of the WHW and our final destination.  From here we’ll be getting the train back to Glasgow and resting our tired feet!

I won’t be able to blog on the trail but I’ll be posting an update when I get back!

Food

Hiking burns a lot of calories and I wanted to make sure we have enough energy to complete the challenge.  Fortunately, there are lot’s of places to eat along the West Highland Way so most evenings we’ll be able to get dinner somewhere.  I have packed enough for breakfast and lunch every day as well as a variety of snacks.

IMG_8371.JPG

As you can see most of the food I have packed is pre-bought.  If you want some inspiration to make your own trekking food check out this blog post from The Yummy Life blog (http://www.theyummylife.com/Backpacking_Food).

Everything Else!

The most important thing for trekking is to keep your backpack light.  This is why I lined up all of our things and we then got rid of some of them!

IMG_8369.JPG

And we’re ready to go – wish us luck!

IMG_8373.JPG

Support Cats Protection

Don’t forget if to lend your support by visiting the Rory’s Feline Good just giving page:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

One thought on “Trekking the West Highland Way

  1. Looks like a lot of fun. Safe journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

